Coastline Karnataka

Karnataka's 300-km coastline extends from Mangalore to Karwar. The state has one major port – New Mangalore Port – and ten minor ports along the Arabian Sea. The New Mangalore Port is situated at Panambur, north of the Gurupur river. The minor ports are Karwar, Honnavar, Bhatkal, Tadri, Belekeri in Uttara Kannada district; Gangolli (also called Kundapur), Hangarakatta, Padubidri and Malpe in Udupi district; and Old Mangalore in Dakshin Kannada district.

Karwar, a fairly big port that can handle import and export, is the sole all-weather port, whereas the others are seasonal, riverine ports, mainly used for fisheries. India’s biggest naval base is coming up at Karwar. Old Mangalore, also called Bunder, is an intermediate port. It is used by people of Lakshadweep for their needs. Karwar and Malpe have the potential to be tourism ports.


The coastline is called Karavali, and rivers that flow into the Arabian Sea are Sharavathi, Sharabi, Kollur, Gangolli, Sitanadi, Kali, Belekeri, Gangavali, Aghanashini Gurupur and Netravati.


Karnataka’s Konkan Railway, and the national highway run parallel to the coastline, connecting the hinterland. The Hassan-Mangalore railway line links the ports in southern Karnataka to the interior areas. There is a railway line in process connecting Hubli and Ankola. Karnataka has more than 10 popularly-visited beaches.

Sponsored Link


Karnataka Beaches

Baindoor Beach | Bhatkal Beach | Gokarna Beach | Karwar Beach | Kaup Beach | Kumta Beach | Kurumgad Beach | Lady Beach | Malpe Beach
Marwanthe Beach | Murudeshwar Beach | Nethrani Island | Ullal Beach